UPDATED MEDIA ADVISORY

New York State Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation

Commissioners:

Michael Cardozo, Chair Hon. Randall T. Eng (Ret.) Mitra Hormozi Seymour Lachman Peter Madonia Jim Malatras Bob Megna

Date: October 10, 2019

NEW YORK-Michael Cardozo, the Chair of the Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation, has announced that the Commission will hold its first meeting on **October 17, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.** at the New York City Bar Association, 42 West 44th Street, New York, New York. Additionally, two Commissioners will be attending the meeting remotely via videoconference from SUNY, 353 Broadway, Albany, New York, Room S338. Both meeting locations are open to the public. However, the Commission does not plan on hearing any live witness testimony at the meeting.

The meeting will also be viewable online via a live webcast. Information on remote viewing will be posted at http://nyscommissiononcompensation.org.

You may contact the Commission by email at nyscompensation@gmail.com or by regular mail at NYS Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation, 64 Beaver Street, Box 454, New York, NY 10004.

The Commission is an independent body tasked with examining, evaluating and making recommendations with respect to compensation for New York State's judges, members of the state legislature and state officials named in section 169 of the Executive Law. The recommendations shall have the force of law unless modified or abrogated by legislation prior to taking effect. The Commission must make a recommendation as to judicial compensation by December 31, 2019. A separate report, relating to legislative and executive compensation, is due by November 15, 2020.

Every four years, the Commission is established with seven appointed members, three designated by the Governor, one by the President Pro Tempore of the New York State Senate, one by the Speaker of the New York State Assembly and two by the Chief Judge of the New York State Court of Appeals, one of whom serves as chair of the Commission.