MEDIA ADVISORY

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation

Hon. Eugene M. Fahey, Chair (Ret.)
Helene Blank
Theresa Egan
Nadine Fontaine
Victor Kovner
Robert Megna
Hon. Jeremy Weinstein (Ret.)

Date: October 16, 2023

HEARING NOTICE

WHAT: The New York State Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive

Compensation will hold a public hearing on judicial compensation.

WHEN: Tuesday, October 31, 2023 – Public Hearing

TIME: 12:30 P.M.

WHERE: New York State Bar Association

1 Elk Street

Albany, New York 12207 City View Room

This meeting will be viewable online via a live webcast. Information on remote reviewing will be posted at: http://www.nyscommissiononcompensation.org on the day of the meeting.

If you would like to testify, please contact the Commission in advance by email, at: nyscompensation@gmail.com or by regular mail, at: NYS Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation, 64 Beaver Street, Box 454, New York, NY 10004. Interested parties and members of the public may also submit written submissions to nyscompensation@gmail.com or by regular mail (address above). Written submissions will be posted on the Commission's website.

The New York State Commission on Legislative, Judicial and Executive Compensation is an independent body tasked with examining, evaluating and making recommendations with respect to compensation for New York State's judges, members of the state legislature and state officials named in section 169 of the Executive Law. The recommendations shall have the force of law unless modified or abrogated by legislation prior to taking effect. The Commission must make a recommendation as to judicial compensation by December 31, 2023. A separate report, relating to legislative and executive compensation, is due by November 15, 2024.

Every four years, beginning June 2015, the Commission is established with seven appointed members - three designated by the Governor, one by the President Pro Tempore of the New York State Senate, one by the Speaker of the New York State Assembly and two by the Chief Judge of the New York State Court of Appeals, one of whom serves as chair of the Commission.